Note Worthy Cooking

Good Food and Good Music. What more can you ask for?

“Grilled” Zucchini Mozzarella Roll

Ill be honest, I thought I hated zucchini, squash and pumpkin. I dont remember when I first tried it (or if I even tried it at all?) but from then on I would avoid these vegetables like the plague. I bought zucchini at one point to experiment with a falafel recipe but I never got around to it and that poor zucchini was just begging to be used. So I took pity on it, invited my friends over and used this recipe.

My logic was that if I didnt like it I could pawn the zucchini off on my friends. I hesitantly tried it and found out that IT IS DELICIOUS! Im going to contribute some of its deliciousness to my cooking talent but as you will see… I actually did very little to it. So with my newfound love for zucchini, I present to you this recipe.

Ingredients:

3 small zucchinis

A cup or so of olive oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

Mozzarella balls

Toothpicks

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees. Cut the zucchini into long thin slices and pour the olive oil into a small bowl. Coat the zucchini in the olive oil and sprinkle some salt and pepper on it.

Put the zucchini on a cookie sheet.

Here comes the cool part! I dont have a grill so I researched ways to grill in an oven. It turns out that there is a way and it is sooo easy. After the oven heats up to 500 degrees switch the oven from bake to broil (on high). As soon as you do that pop your zucchini  in the oven and check it every five minutes or so. Since the oven is so hot they grill fast so as soon as you see it start browning take it out or else it will burn! Trust me I found out the hard way! When it cools, take out the mozzarella balls and wrap the zucchini slice around it. Put a toothpick in it to hold it in place. Continue doing this until you run out of your pre-cut zucchini slices. Then enjoy!!

Song of the Day:

The Dead Dog- Portugal the Man

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2011 by .
