Note Worthy Cooking

Good Food and Good Music. What more can you ask for?

Tilapia-Veggie Bake

This might be a little late and forgive me for writing this two weeks after the    event BUT ACL WAS AMAZING! (as always) I listened to my favorite bands,    ate overpriced but delicious food and learned new culturally accepted practices. For example, before ACL I was unaware that you could only have “one fedora per crew”. (I was so nicely told this by an intoxicated young woman and the band Young the Giant) Imagine my embarrassment when both my friend and I both came in fedoras. However fashion mistakes aside I had an incredible time.

On a different note, my mother called me the other day and informed me that my recipes have been concentrated around sweets. Although I see no problem in this I decided to try a new fish recipe to appease her.      *adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

Ingredients:

2 filet of tilapia

1 cup of chopped carrots

1/2 cup of broccoli

1/2 cup of green beans

1/2 cup of sliced onions

1 clove of minced garlic

1/4 tsp of salt

1/4 tsp of pepper

4 tsp of olive oil

1 tsp of rosemary

1/2 of a lemon

Instructions:

Thaw fish if frozen and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Bring maybe a cup of water to boil in a small pot or pan. Cook the chopped green beans, broccoli and carrots for two minutes and then immediately take off the heat. Toss together the onions, garlic, salt, pepper, and vegetables until all mixed. Squeeze part of the lemon on top.

Tear off two large pieces of foil and place them in a large oven pan. Divide the vegetable mixture evenly in the center of each piece of foil. Place the tilapia filet over each. Then drizzle the olive oil and the rest of the lemon over the filet. Sprinkle the filet with rosemary.

Bring together the two opposite edges of foil and seal with a double fold. Make sure there is no way for the steam to escape. Pop it into the oven for roughly thirty minutes. Once finished the tilapia should be completely cooked through and deliciously flaky. Also the vegetables should be fully cooked. Open the packets slowly to let steam escape and enjoy!

Song of the Day!

Devil Knows Your Dead – Delta Spirit

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2011 by .
